Council Elections

Local government ordinary elections are held every two years in October.  The next state-wide ordinary elections are scheduled for Saturday October 16, 2021.

The City of Swan is represented by 15 Councillors.  In October 2021, the City of Swan will hold elections for seven vacancies. 

The following Wards will have elections:

  • Altone Ward (2 vacancies)

  • Midland/Guildford Ward (1 vacancy)

  • Pearce Ward (2 vacancies)

  • Swan Valley/Gidgegannup Ward (1 vacancy)

  • Whiteman Ward (1 vacancy)

The City's elections are conducted as postal elections by the Western Australian Electoral Commission. The Commission appoints a Returning Officer to oversee the election which includes taking candidate nominations and supervising the count on election night.

At the first special meeting after the election, the Council will elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Prospective Councillor Seminar

We’re looking for passionate, committed and innovative leaders to help guide our Council toward a brighter future.

If you’re over the age of 18 and a City of Swan elector (and not disqualified), you’re eligible to nominate as a candidate.

Influence your community’s long-term vision and direction by becoming a Councillor in your local government.  Learn more by attending one of the following Prospective Councillor Seminar:

  • Tuesday August 17, 6pm to 8pm, Beechboro Public Library - register online

  • Thursday August 19, 9am to 11am, Ellenbrook District Open Space North – register online

  • Saturday August 21, 2pm to 4pm, Crooked Spire, Midland – register online

This is a free event and registration to attend is required.  Nominations for candidates open Thursday September 2, 2021, and close Thursday September 9, 2021.