Local Government Elections

Local government elections are held every two years, on the third Saturday in October. The Mayor and Councillors are each elected for four-year terms, with half of the Councillors elected every second election. 

The most recent elections for the City of Swan were held on Saturday, October 21, 2023.

The City appointed the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) to run the election as a postal election. 

The following were the successful candidates:

Altone Ward
Councillor-elect Amanda Dorn 

Midland/Guildford Ward
Councillor-elect Ian Johnson
Councillor-elect Rashelle Predovnik

Pearce Ward
Councillor-elect Cate McCullough
Councillor-elect Evia Aringo 

Swan Valley/ Gidgegannup Ward
Councillor-elect Rod Henderson

Whiteman Ward
Councillor-elect Haeden Miles

For the full results please visit the WAEC website(open in new window).

Councillor Ian Johnson was elected Deputy Mayor at a Special Meeting of Council on Monday, October 30, 2023. 

Owner occupiers role enrolment forms

The owners and occupiers roll (roll), is maintained by a local government’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO). The roll is required to include all people who have claimed a right to vote in the local government district under section 4.30 of the Local Government Act 1995 (LG Act).

As such, a person who is enrolled to vote in a State or Federal election outside a district or ward, but who owns or occupies a rateable property in a local government district or ward, may claim eligibility and be enrolled to vote in elections for that district or ward. However, there are additional requirements to be considered when assessing an enrolment claim, including requirements under the Local Government (Elections) Regulations 1997 (Election Regs).

Back to of the page